About URCA

URCA’s Board

URCA is governed by a five-member Board comprising three (3) non-executive members, including the Board’s chairperson, and two (2) ex officio members; the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Director of Policy and Regulation (DPR). Non-executive members are appointed by the Governor General.

Board members include:

Non-Executive Members

Mr. Randol Dorsett

Randol M. Dorsett

Mr. Dorsett is serving his second term as chairperson of the URCA Board. He was appointed to his first three year term 1 Augustin 2012 and reappointed with effect from 2015 for a further three years. Mr. Dorsett is an attorney at law with an established litigation and dispute resolution practice. His work covers the full spectrum of commercial practice with an emphasis on Banking, Labour and Employment, Personal Injury and Fraud.  Prior to entering private practice, he was one of the youngest attorneys to be appointed partner in a prominent local firm.

Mr. J. Paul Morgan
Deputy Chairman

J. Paul Morgan

Mr. Morgan, the Director of the Regulatory Authority of Cayman Islands, was first appointed as a member of the URCA’s inaugural board in August 2009 for his first three year term. He is currently serving his third term as a member of the Board. Mr. Morgan has worked as an independent advisor on policy and regulatory frameworks or as a regulator, in the Energy, telecommunications (ICT) and Water sectors for more than 40 years. 

Mrs. Cherise Cox-Nottage
Board Member

Cherise Cox-Nottage

Mrs. Cox-Nottage, an attorney by profession, was appointed to URCA’s Board in 2015 .  As one who has worked extensively within the financial regulatory regime, she brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the board.  Cox-Nottage is currently head of the Legal and Compliance Department for UBS Trustees (Bahamas) Ltd.  She is a past recipient of the Minister’s Cup from the Bahamas Financial Services Board (BFSB) for her contributions to the Financial Services Industry in The Bahamas, a Certified Anti-Money Laundering Specialist and a Certified Compliance Officer

Executive Members

Mr. Stephen Bereaux
Chief Executive Officer

Stephen Bereaux

Mr. Stephen Bereaux was appointed Chief Executive Officer (CEO) in March of 2017 having previously served as Director of Policy and Regulation (DPR) from July 2012 until his appointment as CEO. An Attorney by profession, Mr. Bereaux joined URCA in 2010 as a Senior Case Officer. Prior to his appointment with URCA, Bereaux was Senior Manager for Legal and Regulatory Affairs and Corproate Secretary at the Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (TATT).

Mr. Shevonn Cambridge
Director of Utilities and Energy

Shevonn Cambridge

Mr. Shevonn Cambridge, a qualified attorney and engineer by profession, joined URCA on 13 March 2017. As Director of Utilities and Energy (DUE), Mr. Cambridge has overall responsibility for URCA’s regulation of the Electricity Sector.  Prior to his appointment to URCA, Mr. Cambridge served as Deputy Manager, Operations for the Bahamas Power and Light Company, (BPL) and has more than 25 years’ experience in the electricity industry.

Mrs. Clara Taylor-Bell
General Counsel & Board Secretary

Clara Taylor Bell

Mrs. Clara Taylor-Bell was appointed General Counsel in March 2017. Prior to her appointment Mrs. Taylor-Bell served as Legal Counsel and Board Secretary for Bahamas Power and Light Company, (BPL).